Style Switcher

Choose Colour style

For a better experience please change your browser to CHROME, FIREFOX, OPERA or Internet Explorer.

What to do if your account is locked or limited.

What to do if your account is locked or restricted.

We may block an account or impose time restrictions on certain features of an account if it is suspected to have been hacked or its owner has violated the Twitter Rules or Terms of Service. If after logging in or launching the application, you see a message that your account has been locked or that some of the account’s functions have been restricted, follow the recovery instructions or read this article for more information..

Your account has been blocked for security reasons.

If, when you sign in to your account, you see a message that it has been blocked for security reasons, it means that suspicious activity has been detected, indicating that the account may have been compromised. To unlock your account, protect it by changing your password now.

If you have an email address associated with your account, instructions will also be sent to that email address. If there is no such message, check your junk (spam) and social media folders.

Check out tips for protecting your account.

If you need more help unlocking your account, please contact our technical support.

Your account has been blocked, you must confirm that you are the owner.

If it is determined that automated actions were taken on behalf of your account in violation of the Twitter Rules, we may block the account and ask you to confirm that you are the owner..

To unblock your account, follow these steps.

Sign in to your account. Look for the account blocked message. Click Get Started. Enter your phone number. Please note that this phone number will be linked to your Twitter account. An SMS message with a verification code will be sent to you. Also, the code can be reported by phone. It may take several minutes for the code message to arrive. After entering the verification code, click Submit to unblock your account.

If you have an email address associated with your account, instructions will also be sent to that email address. If there is no such message, check your junk (spam) and social media folders.

If you need more help unlocking your account, please contact our technical support.

If your account is locked, people who view your profile may see a message stating that unusual activity was taking place on that account. In this case, they will need to confirm that they still want to visit this account page.

Your account is limited because it may be in violation of the Twitter policies.

If your account is restricted due to a possible violation of the Twitter Rules, you can still view information on Twitter, but you can only send private messages to your followers. You cannot do things like tweet, retweet or like, and only your followers can see your previously posted tweets.

We may ask you to perform certain actions before the countdown begins in a state of reduced functionality. This could be verifying an email address, adding a phone number to an account, or removing tweets that violate Twitter’s policies..

To restore your account, log in and look for a message about the temporary limitation of some of the functions of your account. Click the Get Started button and follow the instructions.

Note: Repeated violations of the Twitter Rules may cause your account to be permanently suspended..

If you think that your account has been limited in functionality by mistake, you can contact our technical support team..

If your account is temporarily restricted, people who view your profile may see a message stating that your account may be in violation of Twitter policies. In this case, they will need to confirm that they still want to visit this account page.

Some functions of your account are limited due to suspicious activity.

If your account has seen aggressive reading or aggressive interactions (such as Likes, Retweets, and Quoting Tweets) that violates the Twitter Rules, you will see a message stating that your account has been restricted for a certain amount of time..

In this case, you have two options:

use Twitter in a limited way for the specified time; verify your phone number or email address as instructed.

To temporarily use Twitter in a restricted state, simply click Go to Twitter. During restricted use, your Tweets and account may be filtered on certain Twitter pages, including search results and notifications. If you choose the Go to Twitter option, you will not be able to go back and choose the option to verify your phone number.

To remove restrictions by verifying your phone number or email address, click Verify and follow the instructions. Phone number and email verification prevents potentially automated or scripted Twitter activity.

Note: If your account has experienced repeated violations of Twitter rules or aggressive interactions with other accounts, the option to verify your phone number may not be available to you. In this case, you will only be able to use Twitter in a limited way during the specified time..

How to disable a blocked account.

To disable a blocked account, see our troubleshooting articles or submit a request here. Inquiries can also be directed to the contact persons listed in the Additional Information or Help section of our Privacy Policy..

How to request a copy of their personal information Holders of blocked accounts can request access to their information here. Inquiries can also be directed to the contact persons listed in the Additional Information or Help section of our Privacy Policy..

If it seems to you that your account was blocked by mistake, you can report this to our technical support staff..

Some functions of your account are temporarily limited..

Correspondence is an integral part of Twitter, but if we detect behavior that might violate the Twitter Rules or interfere with the free expression of other users, we may temporarily restrict some of the account’s features. For example, only your followers will be able to view information about your Twitter activity, including tweets, likes, retweets, and more. Limiting the reach of potentially offensive content creates a safer environment and strengthens the Twitter community.

If you see this message when you sign in, click Go to Twitter to start a countdown until your account has been restored. Read more about Twitter’s Offensive Behavior Policy and Hate Content Guidelines.

leave your comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Top Mobile Apps
Mobile Apps